Truly, Madly, Greekly by Mandy Baggot

May 26, 2015 Author Bio, Review 1 ★★★★★

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Truly, Madly, Greekly by Mandy BaggotTruly, Madly, Greekly by Mandy Baggot
Published by Bookouture on May 22nd 2015
Genres: Romance
Pages: 331
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Buy on Amazon USBuy on Amazon UK
Goodreads
five-stars

Sun, sea and a sexy stranger - a whole lot of fun just got a lot more complicated
Capable, confident and career-driven, Ellen had her dream job and a marriage proposal from boyfriend Ross. Life was good, her future set. Until it wasn’t and everything fell apart…

Whisked off to the beautiful island of Corfu to plan her sister Lacey’s big, fat, Greek wedding, Ellen is hoping some time out will help clear her head and heal her heart. But letting go of her past is not going to be easy.

With Lacey in full on Bridezilla mode, Ellen is soon distracted from her own problems. And when the all-inclusive treats on offer at hotel Blue Vue include one gorgeous, brooding Adonis – Yan – Ellen finds him difficult to resist.

But Ellen isn’t looking for love or lust, or anything involving too much ouzo…or is she?

Fans of Lucy Diamond, Miranda Dickinson and Lindsey Kelk will want to escape to Corfu with Mandy Baggot this summer.

review

Reviewed by Joanne

*I received an E-ARC from the publisher via NetGalley*

If you’re looking for a book to get you in the holiday mood, then this is the perfect summer read. You can just imagine lying on those sunbeds, basking in the sun, walking down Sidari high street and calling into The Smugglers Inn for some proper English food. Actually, I don’t need to imagine it, I’ve been there, and got the t-shirt! (And they do a lush Sunday dinner!)
I loved this heartwarming and funny tale of self-discovery and new beginnings. Set on the beautiful Greek island of Corfu, this is the tale of two sisters, Ellen and Lacey, who expected to spend a week in the sun planning a wedding but you know what they say, ‘the best-laid plans of mice and men…’ and things definitely don’t go to plan on this trip!
I enjoyed seeing Ellen come out of her shell and start to enjoy herself, she arrived carrying the weight of the world on her shoulders and I felt so sorry for her. Bit by bit Ellen’s life back home is revealed and it’s clear that she’s not happy. She has been living a lonely life and the repercussions of her recent actions are going to catch up with her on her return to the UK. Not even her sister knows what has been going on but that will soon be remedied!

Whilst Lacey is keen to enjoy this week away from home, Ellen is harder to convince. She didn’t factor in the persistence of a member of the hotels entertainment team though. Yan is a Bulgarian man, trying to start a new life in Corfu and takes his job seriously. Seeing Ellen looking so forlorn in such a beautiful setting makes him determined to bring her out of her shell. Both of them are unprepared for how much their lives will change over the next week.

Ellen makes assumptions about Yan, given the nature of his job, and assumes she would just be the latest in a long line of many. That’s not Yan at all though. He’s kind, sweet, honourable, considerate and has a heart of gold. He was just so damn lovely, it was hard for her to resist his charms for long, and I can’t say I blame her either. I wondered how much they could really get to know each other in a week, and what would happen once the holiday was over. I loved how their friendship developed and seeing them open up to each other.

At first I found Lacey to be selfish, and totally oblivious to Ellens feelings. Being the younger of the two, Lacey was carefree and very much used to being the centre of attention, whilst Ellen was relegated to being the sensible big sister. However, as the storyline progressed and Ellen’s secret is exposed, Lacey really came good and had her sisters back.

A lot can happen in a week, and I loved how the story ended. It was very touching, and I finished reading with tears in my eyes. I’m basking in a feelgood glow after reading this lovely story, Mandy Baggot has captured that holiday feeling so perfectly and has me chomping at the bit for my own Greek holiday later this year! OOPA!!

About Mandy Baggot

Mandy Baggot is a romantic fiction author. In 2012 she won the Innovation in Romantic Fiction award at the UK’s Festival of Romance. Her self-published title, Strings Attached was also short-listed for the Best Author Published Read award.

Also in 2012 she signed with American publishing house, Sapphire Star Publishing, who produced her novels, Taking Charge and romantic suspense, Security.

In June 2013 she signed a two book deal with Harper Collins’ digital first romance imprint, Harper Impulse.

She is a regular contributor to writing blogs and on-line magazine, Loveahappyending Lifestyle http://www.loveahappyending.com/.

Mandy loves mashed potato, white wine, country music, World’s Strongest Man, travel and handbags. She has appeared on ITV1’s Who Dares Sings and auditioned for The X-Factor.

Mandy is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and lives near Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK with her husband, two daughters and cats, Kravitz and Springsteen.

She is an advocate for women in business and belongs to the networking group Women on Wednesdays.

One Response to “Truly, Madly, Greekly by Mandy Baggot”

  1. Mandy Baggot

    I’m so glad I captured the spirit of Greece for you and you loved the book so much! Thank you for this wonderful review!

    Mandy x

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge